WaitState

Will technology ever catch up?

OSX Security

Posted by cascadehush on September 3, 2006

Well I’ve all but finished my traineeship in PC Technical support, so it’s time to reload my G4 iBook which has been so helpful. So this seems like a good time to have a look at security.

Mac Geekery – Basic Mac OS X Security has some useful tips. The idea of creating a user account that doesn’t have admin rights is a Linux staple, but I must say that it only took about 1/2 hour for me to be completely fed-up with it. When I couldn’t get a utility to work because I couldn’t re-name a directory that was enough for me. Still, it’s food for thought and there are many other tips to switch on many of the OSX security features which are off by default.

Some other links:
MacDevCenter.com — A Security Primer for Mac OS X
Macintosh Security Site -> Mac OS X Security Guide v.1 by Chevell – SecureMac

Leave a Reply

 
