WaitState

Will technology ever catch up?

OSX: Google plus Safari WTF!!!!!!!

Posted by cascadehush on September 25, 2006

This is what is wrong with technology. One day it works and the next day it doesn’t. No wonder the average computer user barely manages to hold on.

Yesterday I could drag links out of a Google search and dump them straight into a draft blog post in ecto. Standard procedure in a modern OS like OSX. Today it no longer works. I can drag and drop other links, even links on the Google site EXCEPT SEARCH RESULTS.

I had the perfect system for almost 24 hours. The beauty of dragging links out of Safari is that it keeps the original link text and the underlying URL, so you don’t just end up with the URL text, you get a nice pretty link ready made with no work required to fit it into the text.

So I’d write a post in ecto, and see a word or phrase that should be a link. I select it, right-click, and select ‘Google Search’. Safari opens and does a search and I choose the relevant link and drag it into my post.
So now I have to open up the page and drag the link from the address bar. Oh, well, I can live with that. It still sucks.

One of the reasons I started this blog was to vent my spleen about the stupidity that often ruins otherwise great ideas. Until now I’ve not had an actual, good, proper, rant. Inconsistency can be a killer. The best technology, the mundane stuff like reticulated water, telephones and cars, is the best because most of the time they just work, and work the same way each time.

And now that I’ve had my rant, I think the solution to the problem has just occurred to me. Yesterday I was not ‘logged in’ to Google in Safari and this afternoon I logged in. That is the only thing that I know of that has changed in the mean-time.

I’ve just logged out of Google in Safari, and what do you know… it works properly the way it did before. So there you go, some practical problem solving and a rant.

Sometimes it just helps to get things off your chest.

Leave a Reply

 
