WaitState

Will technology ever catch up?

Ubuntu – Ready for Prime Time? Not now, not ever!

Posted by cascadehush on October 18, 2006

Because Ubuntu leaves out any software which is patented, copywrited or otherwise relies on propriatary code, most of the useful things one associates with linux seem to be missing. Especially in the area of media filetype support. If you have a collection of AVIs or MP3s, steer well clear.

I don’t know what movie formats the included Totem movie player plays, but I can’t get it to play anything dispite having downloaded several of the suggested codec packs/plugins. I have tried various movies in different formats and none of them play. In the end I downloaded VLC.

Accessing my Windows XP server was a piece of cake, until I discovered that only the gnome file manager seems to be able to access files on the drive. If I try to actually open a file I get an error. The only way to use files is to make a local copy first. So much for Linux being good for networking.

When I try to install nVidia drivers and the control panel to tweek the graphics, I get the option to install one of these but not both. So I can have the driver with no control, or I can have the control panel with no driver to talk to.

Video performance is appaling as a result.

I have never had any problems like this with either XP or OSX. I have wasted an entire evening trying to do a simple task like watch a video.

Linux ready for the mainstream? No closer than yesterday.

If your time is worth nothing to you, then maybe you can figure this out. Otherwise XP and OSX are a bargain.

(P.S. If you are looking for a ‘better Ubuntu’ check out the only version of Linux I have ever run for more than a week: simplyMEPIS )

Leave a Reply

 
