WaitState

Will technology ever catch up?

Download of the Day: Comodo Personal Firewall (Windows) – Lifehacker

Posted by cascadehush on January 10, 2007

Download of the Day: Comodo Personal Firewall (Windows) – Lifehacker:

Windows only: Keep your PC safe with Comodo Personal Firewall, a free security program designed to block outside intruders and keep your PC from “leaking.”

Unlike the free version of ZoneAlarm, Comodo recognizes thousands of known programs as safe, meaning it won’t bombard you with pop-up warnings for those programs.

I used the free version of ZoneAlarm myself for years, until SP2 gave every activated copy of XP a built-in firewall. There was a time when ZoneAlarm was great, it would let you know the name and location of the .exe file that was trying to access the internet, and you could make an informed choice. But towards the end I found I was getting asked about programs referred to as ‘Generic Process’ or ‘Run DLL as App’ accessing the internet. Clearly these types of descriptions could mean anything from a regular system service to a nasty bit of spyware, and so the app became unusable.

Personally I think you are better off with XP’s built in firewall combined with a bit of common sense about what programs you install in the first place.

I can’t vouch for Comodo, but I thought the post worth linking to. It’s possible in the future I may try it, if I find I need more than the XP firewall. There are some interesting comments, as usual, offering suggested alternatives.

Leave a Reply

 
