WaitState

Will technology ever catch up?

Archive for January 23rd, 2007

Compare Linux distros side by side – Lifehacker

Posted by cascadehush on January 23, 2007

Compare Linux distros side by side – Lifehacker:

Pro-Linux site polishlinux.org has a new tool that lets you compare Linux distributions side by side.

Too little, too late for me. In the past I have spent many hours searching the web in search of distros, and many more hours struggling with various flavors of Linux.

In the end I run XP on my PC boxes, because for me the windows license is a reasonable price to pay for a system that I can setup quickly with known results. I know XP will work with my hardware. I know it will not crash. I know my software will work, and almost all the best open source software has Windows binaries available.

For those occasions when I get a hankering for something like Unix, I have OSX.

You can access the site directly: polishlinux.org » Compare distros

Posted in Linux, Opinion, OSX, PC, Software | Leave a Comment »

OSX: Melman Quicksilver User’s Guide

Posted by cascadehush on January 23, 2007

Melman Quicksilver User’s Guide – The Unofficial Apple Weblog (TUAW):

The great thing about Quicksilver is how much functionality it puts at your finger tips. Of course the main problem with Quicksilver is how much functionality it puts at your finger tips!

I must say I still only use it as a launcher. Maybe one day I’ll read Melman’s guide.

Posted in OSX, Software | Leave a Comment »

links for 2007-01-23

Posted by cascadehush on January 23, 2007

Posted in Opinion | Leave a Comment »

Vista: Lifehacker Vista tips

Posted by cascadehush on January 23, 2007

Windows Vista Tip: Save your searches in virtual folders – Lifehacker

Ever wish you could save the results of a desktop search so you didn’t have to repeat the search in the future? Windows Vista lets you do exactly that with a new feature called Virtual Folders.

Windows Vista Tip: Built-in Quick Launch keyboard shortcuts – Lifehacker

Windows Vista automatically assigns keyboard shortcuts to programs and documents on your Quick Launch bar. Just use the Windows key + the number of the program in the order it appears there.

Much as I dislike it, Vista isn’t all bad.

Of course OSX has had ‘Smart Folders’ for awhile now, and QuickSilver beats just about any other way of launching applications.

Still, these are two handy hits. And if you are going to use vista, you need all the help you can get.

Posted in Opinion, OSX, Software, Vista | Leave a Comment »